Behavioral Health

The Healthy KC Behavioral Health action team has made the following recommendations of areas for improvement:
  • Increase the community’s capacity to treat mental illness, reduce exposure to violence, provide access to safe and stable housing, and offer proven prevention strategies
  • Promote recognized best-practice approaches to improve mental health treatment quality and reduce the long-term costs of untreated behavioral health through trauma-informed, integrated, and coordinated care
  • Advocate for prevention and early intervention programs in schools and work places that lessen the need for future behavioral health treatment
You can read more of their report to the Healthy KC Commission here.

Learn about Trauma and ACEs >>

Resiliency Resources >>

ACEs Summary >>

The Healthy KC Commissioner for Behavioral Health is Brenda Sharpe of REACH Healthcare Foundation.

The following individuals served as members of the Behavioral Health action team:
  • Carla Gibson (Chair), REACH Healthcare Foundation
  • Dennis Meier (Vice Chair), Synergy Services
  • Andrea Buford, Swope Health Services
  • Denise Cross, Cornerstones of Care
  • Etta Mitchell, Special Neighbors
  • James Dugan, Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences
  • Jen Wilding, Consensus-Creating Community Solutions KC
  • Jennifer Ness, YMCA of Greater Kansas City
  • Luis Cordoba, Kansas City Public Schools
  • Marsha L. Morgan, Truman Medical Centers
  • Qiana Thomason, Blue Cross & Blue Shield of KC
  • Rita Holmes Bobo, Niles Homes for Children
  • Shary Jones, US Dept. of Health & Human Services
  • Stan Archie, Successful Edge LLC
  • Susan Crain Lewis, Mental Health America of the Heartland
  • Tara Hitzig, Awaken Whole Life Center
  • Theresa Reyes-Cummings, Jackson County Mental Health Fund
  • Tom Petrizzo, Tri-County Mental Health Services